Zoramites for Ron Paul

Ron Paul supporters are different. Many of them seem to take the view that you are either for Ron Paul or you’re going to hell with the rest of the traitors. I received an email today which was a response to some pointed criticism of Ron Paul by Rush Limbaugh. In it, the writer called Limbaugh a “globalist New World Order hack and shill.” He then charged that Limbaugh, Sean Hannity, Bill O’Reilly and Glenn Beck are “well paid shills…enemies from within, not friends to liberty and freedom.”

One of the reasons I have stopped listening to Michael Savage – and often turn off Mark Levin – is that each of them routinely insults and demeans other conservative talk show hosts. I find that deplorable. I have a similar reaction to the “Ron Paul or you’re going to hell” contingent. Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity and Glenn Beck are not friends to liberty and freedom? All these commentators have different strengths, different weaknesses. Each brings his own unique set of gifts to the battle. Would it make any sense for the Navy to insult  and demean the Air Force because the Air Force engages the enemy with a different set of tools than does the Navy? One of the reasons our military is so effective is that we have many different approaches to defeating an enemy. I see Limbaugh, Hannity, Beck, Levin, Savage, and many other talk show commentators as soldiers enlisted “till the conflict is o’er.” None is perfect, but overall and in combination with one another they have done a great service to the nation. But when any of those conservative talk show soldiers attempts to destroy the credibility of another, they lose me.

Likewise Ron Paul supporters. Oftentimes I perceive these folks as Zoramites standing on their ideological Rameumptoms with their hands stretched forth to heaven thanking God that “thou hast elected us that we shall be saved, whilst all around us are elected to be cast by thy wrath down to hell” (Alma 31:17). Remember the sweet spirit of Gordon B. Hinckley as he spoke of those of other faiths who don’t believe as we do? He said:

“We can respect other religions, and must do so. We must recognize the great good they accomplish. We must teach our children to be tolerant and friendly toward those not of our faith…We recognize the good in all churches. We recognize the value of religion generally. We say to everyone: live the teachings which you have received from your church. We invite you to come and learn from us, to see if we can add to those teachings and enhance your life and your understanding of things sacred and divine” (Gordon B. Hinckley, interview with Lawrence Spicer, London News Service, 28 Aug. 1995)

There seems to be no such Christ-like tolerance among Ron Paul supporters. Only calumny. There is neither tolerance nor friendliness towards those not of their political faith. They don’t recognize any of the good done by Rush Limbaugh and the others. Where is the brotherly love among these folks, inviting those who see things differently to come and learn from them and see if they can add truth to what we already possess? As was Alma and his brethren, having observed the arrogance of the Zoramites, I find myself “astonished beyond all measure” (Alma 31:19) at the rash invective hurled by those who ought to be our brethren.

About John C. Greene

I am a 70 year old businessman in Connecticut and author of "Walking in Darkness at Noonday." I have been a convert member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints for half my life. While a member of a rock band in LA in the mid-1970s I became fascinated with Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn's story of solitary bravery, his exile from his homeland, and his book "Gulag Archipelago." The book had a profound impact on me as it made me realize that there is a vast difference between the land Solzhenitsyn was born to and the land where I was so fortunate to have been born. That was the beginning of my interest in liberty, correct principles of government, and the peculiarly LDS doctrine we call the agency of man.
This entry was posted in Thomas Jefferson. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Zoramites for Ron Paul

  1. Kyle says:

    Very interesting, and thanks for pointing this out. Much of my support for Ron Paul started with watching the 2008 debates, seen Mitt Romney along with everyone else mocking paul. Paul was the only one that stood out and stood up for what he belived in. Resently I heard many comparisons of Ron Paul to Joseph Smith’s (presidential campains), so I found and read what was published for the prophet Smith. On all of the major issues like: sound money, congressional pay, size and scope of government, forien policy, I now know they are almost identical (politically). Also from the resurch I have done on the counsel of the church to vote for people who will uphold the constitution, ext. I know Paul will have my support. I have never seen any political figure running for president, radiated more gospel principals, than this increadible man. I also know several other LDS supporters who are very respectful of others opinions, so I wouldn’t classify us all “one way”. I agree absolutely that you will find extrodanary supporters who will bash, and blemish even the best of all campains, as proved here. Please forgive my spelling, I’m am terrible at it, and cannot manage to get my computers help either.

  2. Kyle says:

    Feel free to email me directly or post back with a reply

  3. Andrew Curtis says:

    John, I believe that Ron Paul is doing a great job educating people on real issues. I too am Ron Paul crazy, but I realize that secret combinations are in control because of the wickedness of this country. I support what he is doing. Now, as far as Limbaugh, Hannity, O’Reilly and Glenn Beck…..can you honestly say that these men are not bought off? They are not pillars of truth. I could list issues of each individual but I won’t take the time. Paul has an impressive record of protecting the Constitution and as a LDS member I respect him the most for protecting the document God raised wise men to create. Therefore is he not on the Lords errand?

    • Andrew:

      You don’t need to defend Ron Paul to me. I made no comment about him. My comments are directed only to Ron Paul supporters who demonize anyone who doesn’t see things as they do. Bought off? It’s one thing to be frustrated by differences among people. I feel that frustration every day. But to allow that frustration to fester to the point of charging that the other guy has been bought off because he doesn’t see things as you do is, in my view, scurrilous, unfounded, and rash. It is also utterly devoid of the spirit of charity. And that is my point. Isn’t it a fact that the more truth one possesses, the more charity he will manifest? If Ron Paul supporters are in possession of more truth than everyone else, where is the charity that should attend to them? I don’t see it. On the contrary, the angry denunciations that Ron Paul supporters hurl at others doesn’t speak well of them or their standard bearer.

  4. Ricky says:

    It is a hasty generalization to say that all or most Ron Paul supporters have those characteristics. He is one of the greatest defenders of God’s of political law that America has seen in many years. To say “There seems to be no such Christ-like tolerance among Ron Paul supporters. Only calumny.” could discourage others from entering that broad stereotype and joining in the cause of liberty.

    If there seems to be Ron Paul supporters that could be classified as “extreme”, I believe it is because his message isn’t about politics, it is about principles. The simplicity of God’s political law (the constitution) stirs in the hearts of all who will hear it, as it does with God’s spiritual law. Therefore, it draws all types of people, many who would otherwise be politically inactive. It may even draw people that don’t have Christ-like tolerance and are unacquainted with God’s spiritual laws.

    Since it is inevitable for people to be categorized into stereotypes, Ron Paul supporters should take note of this perception. One of the best things we can do for Liberty is to help change that perspective by studying the Constitution and teaching its principles with love and understanding. Thank you John for sharing your observation, I hope I can help curb that opinion for liberty’s sake.

    My political loyalty is not to Ron Paul or any one person, it is to the Constitution as inspired by God in the tradition of the founders. However, as long as Ron Paul continues on his consistent ideals of constitutional government, I will wholeheartedly unite my voice with his.

    • Ricky:

      I don’t know what I said that could be accurately characterized as a “hasty generalization.” The quotes I offered from Ron Paul supporters were specific, word for word, and quite typical of the kind of comments many Ron Paul supporters routinely make. Not one word of my article was directed at Ron Paul in any way. Though I have heard him say a few things that I don’t agree with, I have never heard him say that those who don’t agree with him are “well paid shills…enemies from within, not friends to liberty and freedom.” But many of his supporters say that kind of thing often. And it is only his supporters that I directed my comments to. From them I hear only calumny, never charity, towards those who don’t see things exactly as they do. In my view, such a lack of charity is a very bad sign and does not reflect well on them or their candidate.

      • Kyle Lind says:

        “It is imperative, that American citizens become alerted and informed, regarding the threat to our welfare, happiness, and freedom. No American is worthy of citizenship in this great land, who refuses to take an active interest in these important matters”. He goes on to say “stand up for freedom, no matter what the cost, it can help to save your soul, and maybe your country” continues “may god give us the wisdom, to recognize the danger, the dangers of complacency, the threat to our freedom, and the strength to meet this danger courageously” Ezra Taft Benson

Leave a Reply

